At Qonto, we understand that every business has unique needs. If you're considering closing your account, we want to make sure you're fully informed about all the options and services we can offer to better meet your current and future expectations.
Our teams are available to discuss this with you and provide the best possible support through:
- 24/7 Support - Let's talk together to find personalized solutions.
- Tailored Plans - Let's adjust your plan based on your activity and budget.
- New Features - Discover our latest updates that might interest you.
How do I request the closure of my account?
🖥️ You can request the closure of your account by following the steps below from a computer:
- Go to Settings > Billing and invoices
- Select the Close account button.
- Follow the instructions until you reach the confirmation page.
📱 You can also request the closure of your account from the Qonto mobile app:
- Go to Menu > Settings.
- Select the Close account button.
- Follow the instructions until you reach the confirmation page.
Please note that the account closure option is only available for app versions above 20250617.0 (Android) / 20250618.1 (iOS).
☝️ If you recently started the account opening process and your account isn't active yet, you can't close it yourself. Contact our Customer Care team: we'll guide you through the process.
What requirements do you need to meet to close your account?
The closure must be requested by the account holder. To complete the closure, all of the following conditions must be met:
- Your account must be active
- No legal proceedings (judicial reorganization, liquidation, deregistration from the BCE, etc.) can be ongoing
- Your account balance must be €0 with no pending transactions (transfers, card payments, cheque deposits)
If one of the conditions isn't met, the closure will be postponed until the last day of the following month, and you'll be charged for an additional month.
Frequently asked questions:
When will my account be closed after submitting the request?
Regardless of whether you've chosen monthly or annual billing, the closure is processed on the last day of the current month. If you submit your request on the last day of the month, the closure will be postponed to the last day of the following month.
Examples:
- If you submit your request on September 10, 2025, your account will be closed on September 30, 2025.
- If you submit your request on September 30, 2025, your account will be closed on October 31, 2025.
You can track the progress of your account closure request in the web app (Account Settings > Plan and invoices).
Can I reopen my account once it's closed?
No, a closed account is permanently deactivated and cannot be reactivated in the future. Once an account is closed, any transfers sent to it will automatically be returned to the sender. Closure results in the immediate, permanent, and irrevocable deactivation of your IBAN(s), cards, and the inability to receive or send transfers.
Note: You don't need to return your payment cards.
However, you can cancel your account closure request before the closure date by going to Settings > Organization details > Cancel closure.
Are there any fees for closing my account?
No, closing your Qonto account is free.
💡 Did you know this before closing your account?
You may be able to optimize your Qonto experience by adjusting your subscription plan or billing frequency, which could better suit your needs or lower your costs.
Learn more about your plan and additional costs in our dedicated article:
👉 What are the costs of my Qonto subscription and fees?
If you'd like to change your plan or billing frequency, here's how:
👉 How to change my Qonto subscription plan or billing frequency?
Do I still have access to my data after my account is closed?
Yes, even after your account is closed, Qonto provides you with unlimited access to retrieve your transaction history and account statements.
How can I hide a closed account in the app?
All accounts — including closed accounts — remain visible in the top bar of the app.
If you want to hide a closed account so it's no longer displayed, please contact our Customer Care team.